early 2008 books

These ones are from winter and spring 2008 and a few from the early summer, before Prayer for an Agricultural Future.

Cutting my hair.  This one was made in the shocking day or two after a drastic cut-it-myself adventure this past summer.  Buttonhole binding and calligraphy ink.

Cutting my hair. This one was made in the shocking day or two after a drastic cut-it-myself adventure this past summer. Buttonhole binding and calligraphy ink.

inside cover of Cutting my hair.

There are still some pieces left.  The fabric that covers this book was once part of a dress that someone made for me in Afghanistan.  Even almost five years after my brief stay in Afghanistan, there is not a day that I don't think about it.  Over the years this dress has gone into skirts for myself, keychains, ribbons, and finally, books.  Modified coptic binding.
There are still some pieces left. The fabric that covers this book was once part of a dress that someone made for me in Afghanistan. Even almost five years after my brief stay in Afghanistan, there is not a day that I don’t think about it. Over the years this dress has gone into skirts for myself, keychains, ribbons, and finally, books. Modified coptic binding.
The Words of Stones.  The mountains on the cover of this book are drawn from a photography that I took leaving Kabul.  But the text that runs inside the book is about melting into the earth.  About being a part of the dirt and the stones and the slow process of weathering.  Bar-loop binding.

The Words of Stones. The mountains on the cover of this book are drawn from a photography that I took leaving Kabul. But the text that runs inside the book is about melting into the earth. About being a part of the dirt and the stones and the slow process of weathering. Bar-loop binding.

Unspoke.  The cover pages of this book contain the complete woven text of a story about driving home on Christmas Eve printed on tracing paper.  Coptic binding.
Unspoken. The cover pages of this book contain the complete woven text of a story about driving home on Christmas Eve, printed on tracing paper. Coptic binding.
Leave a Reply

