I have begun to dream of book mending

I’ve started repairing broken books as well as make new ones.

There is something beautiful about taking a book so broken you can hardly read it and making it readable again.

Sometimes, at work, books are too beautiful for me to ignore.  This book became a friend of mine the moment I saw it.  Note the hand marbled pages.

Sometimes, at work, books are too beautiful for me to ignore. This book became a friend of mine the moment I saw it. Note the hand marbled pages.

and the beautiful gold work on the cover, as well as the indication that the letters were pressed into place, not just printed.

And see the beautiful gold work on the cover, as well as the indication that the letters were pressed into place, not just printed.

Again, admire the beautiful embossing and marbling.

Again, admire the beautiful embossing and marbling. It broke my heart to repair this book using our ordinary materials.

Linen tape mend. (photo from T. Silva)

Linen tape mend, (photo from T. Silva)

My third or forth spine reconstruction (photo T. Silva).

My third or forth spine reconstruction, (photo from T. Silva).

One response to “I have begun to dream of book mending

Leave a Reply

