More Re-used silk books

Left to right: caterpillar weave, coptic, double modified long-stitch, caterpillar

2 responses to “More Re-used silk books

  • Jen

    These books are beautiful. I have mastered the caterpillar stitch, however, I have never seen the woven caterpillar (a.k.a. caterpillar weave). After seeing your photos, I had no luck finding a tutorial of how to do it. Do you know of any site that could help me out? I would love to learn it.

    • bookmaker

      Hi Jen,

      I don’t know of any sites that will teach the caterpillar weave stitch. A friend taught me. The best I can offer is that it is essentially the ordinary caterpillar stitch except you double back after each stitch (always moving vertically between holes on the inside and horizontally on the outside of the book) and you don’t do any wrapping.

Leave a Reply

